There are WAAAAY to many people here.

I know I haven’t posted in a while. Oh well.

Instead of talking about my feelings, I’m going to tell y’all something others might not know. Unless I wrote about this before. In that case I’ll blame it on my Swiss cheese brain.

I’ve had to fly out of state twice in the last 6months. Since it had been a couple years since I flew, I forgot how stressful it is.

When I flew out in June I almost had an anxiety attack getting my bags checked. It may have been embarrassing and scary for me, but I sure got through security fast. I also got to be in the early seating group. I don’t know about you, but trying to get down this skinny aisles while surrounded by people on all sides getting irritated and snappish makes me want to curl in a ball and scream at the same time.

So after my good treatment on the way to my destination, I looked on the airline’s website and found I only had to tell them I needed that sort of assistance. My flight back went fine.

When I bought tickets for my latest trip, it was on a different airline. After looking all over their website and not finding anything about mental health in the disabilities section, I called them. They told ne just to let the stuff know I needed assistance. And I didn’t have to tell them what the problem was. (Granted, I had no problem telling them about my anxiety, but that’s me and not you.)

Since the security lines were manageable and I didn’t check luggage, those were within the higher range of what I could handle but okay. I talked to the staff and was the first person on the plane both times. (Let it be clarified that there were no disabled, children flying alone, or families with young children to go before me.)

So if you have to fly and it’s stressful, contact the airline to help you out. For those in the US, you can ask to go through the priority line for security as well. You still have to take your shoes off and everything but with fewer people crowding you.

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on November 28, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
