I have to laugh…

My psych wanted me to have a lithium level done as well as several other blood tests.  My lithium level came back within the therapeutic range.  Yay!  My thyroid hormone, TSH, came back abnormal.

This is important for many different reasons, including appetite, weight loss/gain, fatigue, and depression.  It also can trigger muscle cramps and joint pain.  Oddly enough, I have plateaued weight-wise, but I do have all of those symptoms.  See here for more info if you are curious.

Interestingly, hypothyroidism triggers symptoms that are often misdiagnosed for psychiatric disorders.  Now, I know for a fact that I have bipolar and have been diagnose3d for years.  But this on top of it would seriously suck.  Since thyroid issues have been seen in my family before, I am very scared.  I know that my grandmother had issues, although hers was hyperactive rather than hypoactive.  Given a choice, I would rather have what she had,  she was skinny and hyperactive.  Okay, well given a choice between only those two.  Obviously I would rather have neither.  *sighs*

I have to make an appointment to see my primary to see what he wants to do.  It might just be a one-time thing and fine the next time they take the level.  I can hope, right.

I also have to see the neurologist in a week.  Can I get off this merry-go-round?

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on February 4, 2013.

6 Responses to “I have to laugh…”

  1. I have hypothyroid and am glad that I have that compared to hyper. With hypo, the fix is easy with a daily pill. With hyper, the medications can cause goiters and often don’t work, you would be extremely uncomfortable in your own skin, and sometimes the only thing to fix it is radiation or surgical removal and then you would end up being like someone with hypothyroid.

    Anyway, I had “depression” until we figured out my thyroid is slow. An important teaching point, I guess, is to check blood work before giving psychiatric medications.

    Glad you’re getting on top of this problem.

    • It was my psychiatrist that ran the blood work. Having been diagnosed for around 15 years, I don’t have to worry about the diagnosis part at this point in my life, thank goodness. He is concerned though and wants me to see my regular doctor about it. I have to call on Monday for an appointment for that. I am sure he will ask for another blood test. Which my veins will not thank him for.
      Thanks a lot for your comment. You said some things I definitely need to think about. I do try to take care of myself as much as possible.

  2. Hypothyroidism isn’t that bad as things go – just another pill, and all is much better. I’ve had low thyroid performance in the past; it caused sheer exhaustion and low mood (in the absence of other destabilizing factors…)

    • I think that’s why my psych adds it in to the blood tests once a year at a minimum. Now I just need to remember to make an appt with my regular doc and see what he wants to do. I need to try and make a timeline for everything over the last year to share with the doc, the neuro and my psych. Then we might just get on the same page. At least my blog can help with that. There’s been a reason for all my whining!

  3. *Flies through computer and stops merry-go-round* 😉

    I wish I could, but since life is never that easy, have some *MASSIVE HUGS AND SYMPATHY* – it just sounds like another thing you don’t need on top of everything else. Ever feel like shouting at life to give you a break once in a while? Because I feel like doing it on your behalf at the moment…

    Still, I have nothing useful to say except it sucks, and I hope it gets sorted as quickly and pain/hassle-less-ly as possible; even if it’s a daily sorted-ness (I did my reading 🙂 …), it’s better to be sorted than not to be, if that makes any sense at all!

    -JC

Leave a Reply

 
