Sleep doesn’t live here anymore.

I’m sorry I haven’t been posting. I’m going through a wicked bout of insomnia and it’s triggered a depressive episode. Calling my psych later today since I missed work yesterday and am not sure about today. And this comes after getting told in my yearly review that my absences were a problem. 😥

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on August 8, 2012.

12 Responses to “Sleep doesn’t live here anymore.”

  1. Sorry to hear that. Work can sometimes kick you when you’re down. Do they know you suffer from this?

    I gotta say that when I saw your subject title I couldn’t stop hearing the song “Love don’t live here anymore” 🙂

    • Considering how music seems to resonate with you, I’m not surprised. 😉

      I made HR aware of my bipolar as a part of the Americans with Disabilities Act since it’s a form of protection for me. I haven’t sat down with my boss and talked with him about it, but might have to after this. At least he’s a pretty understanding guy.

  2. I’m so sorry you are in that nasty phase. I wish your boss would have some understanding sweety. I hope all goes well with your pdoc today (((hugs)))

  3. I’m sorry to hear that you’re having to deal with this along with the inevitable bad timing (which I know all too well!). All I can offer is digital hugs, tea and sympathy 🙂

    -JC

  4. It is a vicious cycle, I hope you get some rest soon. Definitely time to let your boss know what is going on it should ease the stress if you have an understanding boss.

  5. what did the pdoc end up putting you on for insomnia? ever taken trazodone?

    • I have trazadone, but I don’t take it very often because it stops working. And it wasn’t working this time. So, since he made me realize that the trigger to the insomnia was anxiety and stress, he put me on gabapentin (neurontin) to calm the nerves that were over-firing by balancing some of my neurotransmitters. [That might not be exactly right, but I know neurontin calms overstimulated nerves. It is often used for nerve pain and migraines. Since I’ve had it before, I was okay with it. And 8 hours of sleep last night seems to say that it might be exactly what I needed.

Leave a Reply

 
