Mental illness, Twitter, and Acceptance

After much thought, I have decided tweeting might be a better option for open discussion than I thought.  Twitter is becoming a huge way for people to communicate to others their interests and reach others of the same mindset.

I did this in reaction to a post on the Candida Abrahamson blog.  There are actually two.  I commented on this one, and she kindly responded with this one.

It’s sad that so many people suffer from mental illness, but are afraid to talk about it.  Although the above blog isn’t only about mental illness, she has great information that is easily understood, especially her infographics.  I want to help others be more comfortable talking about mental illness, so I have decided that this blog, even though I talk about more than that, should also show itself there.  I am lucky in that, even when my family didn’t understand my bipolar and might have treated me poorly, they never (on purpose) made me feel ashamed of what I cannot control.  But it took them time to understand my illness and how it affects my behavior and personality.  They had to learn how to speak to me about it.

Without open discourse, we cannot teach others when and how to speak to or with someone that siffers from mental illness.

Please let me know what you think of my idea.  For those that are curious, I’m listed as @TAOTBB.

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on July 26, 2012.

10 Responses to “Mental illness, Twitter, and Acceptance”

  1. Another helpful and insightful comment that furthers the dialogue an important topic.

  2. I think it’s a brilliant idea, for the record, and if I ever get round to getting a Twitter account, I’ll be sure to follow you! 🙂

    -JC

  3. I’m glad I talk openly about my condition. I don’t think I’ve ever felt judged by anyone I love, maybe a couple of people at work. But I think I’ve had a lot more trouble in not judging myself- which is so weird coz I totally accept it in other people and are not judgemental of them! I’m so backwards sometimes!

    • I think it is harder to accept in ourselves because it’s so hard to believe that we are not in control of who we are in some ways. Although I am still myself, no matter my mood, the bipolar can exaggerate aspects of my personality usually suppressed. Instead of simply thinking of doing something rash, I do it.

      I am glad you are able to talk about things and get the support you need.

  4. Hey You have been tagged by me! Please stop by and answer my questions!http://carlarenee45.wordpress.com/2012/07/28/ive-been-tagged/

  5. People need to look at mental illness as a condition, not a weakness. No one asks for mental illness any more than any other illness. It was only a generation ago that most people finally came to the conclusion that alcoholism was a treatable condition, not a weakness of the spirit, and that took several generations for it to happen. Open communications is truly the answer.

    LAC

    • Part of the reason I started this blog was to open communications with both my friends/family and others living with mental illness, whether bipolar or others. It’s important for the people around us to begin understanding us, but that’s only possible with open lines of communication.

  6. It’s me again, I nominated you again for another award. I couldn’t help it! lol
    http://carlarenee45.wordpress.com/2012/07/31/a-first-time-for-this-award/

Leave a Reply

 
