I do try…

to keep my promises.  For a couple of weeks/months/whatever?, I have been promising pics of some of my ceramic art.  I’m going to try to give you at least some of them now.

Day 1.

This is an approximately 9×9 in. tile.  This after the first day of painting since I forgot to take a picture before I started painting.

Day 2.

Here’s the beginning of day 2 showing the original I’m using for inspiration.  Even using it as a guide, the tile will not look like the photo.

Day 2 – end.

At the end of day 2, the finished tile looks good, but it still has to be fired.  At this point, I truly have no idea how it’s going to look. 

Final product.

I’ve been told I’m not allowed to say anything about the parts that I don’t like.  In general, it was a good learning experience.  I need to work on my skills at layering color and determining how to mix colors.  This type of work takes a lot of focus, and I like to think that even my frustration teaches me.  I also think this helps me cope when everything around me feels like it is chaos.

With Bipolar, chaos is how it all feels so often.  When I can pick a single thing that I can focus on, it can help me get past a bad patch.

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on July 24, 2012.

12 Responses to “I do try…”

  1. very beautiful. You do the feathers really good. Thanks for finally sharing lol

  2. Very nice….ceramics can be tricky

  3. Lovely!

  4. They are absolutely exquisite. What a refreshing post!

  5. Thank you for sharing – you should be proud; they’re excellent! Seeing your final product has reminded me how much I miss art, actually, so thanks for that as well!

    -JC

  6. This is beautiful. Sometimes it’s hard for me to remember that I like anything at all when I am depressed. This post reminded me of ceramics classes I used to take and how happy creating makes me. Thanks for this.

Leave a Reply

 
