This is why Chick-fil-A sucks

Not being a horribly political person, I don’t often post about anything truly political in nature.  This is one time when I will.  I have friends that agree with my views on homosexuality and gay marriage and those that disagree.  But all of them would agree that this is a real problem.  Because they are wonderful people who believe that HATE and HATE MONGERING are far worse that who a person loves and what they do in their bedroom.

See the link below to understand my stance.

This is why Chick-fil-A sucks.

I am putting my money where my mouth is.  I will never be contributing to these “ideals” by buying their food again.  It has nothing to do with religion and everything to do with contributing to a company that openly admits they are okay with denying civil rights to a particular group of people.

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on July 19, 2012.

7 Responses to “This is why Chick-fil-A sucks”

  1. Can’t everyone have rights? This is a private company who have the right to their own opinion. Just like we have the right to decide whether or not we want to go there. Sometimes I think that people throw the word “hatred” around like that is the only reason anyone has an opinion. That is their religious stand. Doesn’t mean they “hate” anyone. I mean, other religions believe if you don’t join their religion you should die but we accept them wholeheartedly. I am getting tired of it myself.

    • If all they were doing was having an opinion or giving money to organizations fighting for traditional marriage, it would be one thing. I’d still probably boycott them because I don’t want to give money to someone who’s then giving that money to take away my human rights. However, if you’d read the article, you’d see that Chick-fil-A’s money is supporting groups who are fighting to have gay people executed. Groups who are spreading vicious lies about who I am as a person. That’s not an “opinion,” that’s hatred.

      • Deleted due to double post.

      • I have read about it quite a bit. I haven’t read anything about executing gay people. I honestly think you have read some outlandish website on line and there are plenty

      • I looked at your latest post and followed the trail to the “execution” info. So, Chick fil a owner has supported a group called Exodus, who had a board member John Schmierer who went to Uganda with what they call a “nazi” guy. Meanwhile, the government of Uganda is making laws about executing gays. So the owner of Chick fil a is in support of executing Gays? Am I right?

    • Carla, hun, I have no problems with religious beliefs up until they bleed over into my civil rights and those of others. You see, Chick-fil-a donates money to causes that influence civil rights in this country and others. That is where I have issues. One of my favorite quotes is below. Although there is a lot of argument as to the exact wording, it has been proven the concept behind the quote is accurate.

      From (Protestant) pastor Martin Niemoller”

      “First they came for the Communists,
      and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a Communist.
      Then they came for the Trade Unionists,
      and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a Trade Unionist.
      Then they came for the Jews,
      and I didn’t speak out because I wasn’t a Jew.
      Then they came for me,
      and there was no one left to speak out for me.
      –Information via Wikipedia and other sources.

      I am by no means saying that this is the beginning of the Holocaust, or anything similar here in the US. Other countries are a different story, and I am not up to that type of analysis.

      So I wanted to make sure that I said things right. As you know I would never want to make you or anyone else feel like your religion is wrong or offensive. Religious views can be a beautiful thing! I just don’t want other people’s religious beliefs to be forced on me. Hope that helps clarify what I meant.

      • I don’t want anything to come between us personally, I like you a lot. First of all, I have to keep repeating that I am not involved with any religion. I don’t agree with everything they do. But if a man owns a company and he uses his profits to fund the things he believes it. That is his right Just like when companies sponsor things that religious people don’t like, It is called BOYCOTTING. The government can’t swoop in and close this mans business for what he stands for personally. He has just as many civil rights as you do. I posted on this whole thing on my blog,

Leave a Reply

 
