I knew that would come back…

to bite someone in the ass.

Thankfully, it wasn’t me!  Had an issue last week with a coworker asking me not to do something my boss had previously been told to do.  I was told that it was only because it was end of month and the process would be messed up if I did my job as normal.  Since I don’t do end of month, I asked why and it was explained to me…in some other language and logic system than I am familiar with.  But I did as asked.  At the end of my shift, though, I always send out an email to the others in my department and my boss telling them what I did or did not do.  I made sure to include the fact that I didn’t do that part of my job (as requested).

Lo and behold, I opened my email this afternoon and my boss had replied (to all of us) asking who had asked me not to do my job.  I replied to him and let him know.  This evening he was online and told me that I was fine since I was just doing as a coworker asked, but next time to call him if someone told me not to do something he had told me was part of my job responsibilities.

I think my boss is truly getting fed up with the members of my team keeping things from me and refusing to train me to do a large percentage of the work.  I don’t know if they are just trying to make their own jobs more secure or what, but they are certainly going about it the wrong way.

And I haven’t forgotten that I owe y’all pictures of my ceramics.  As well, if I can get the pics “adjusted” so you can’t identify my face, I’ll show you before and after pics of my haircut.  I donated something over a foot of hair to Locks of Love and then had my hair cut short.  I received quite a few double-takes coming in to work today.  🙂

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on June 25, 2012.

10 Responses to “I knew that would come back…”

  1. There you go Mary! something to toss your hat up for! lol, But now you have your hair cut off so I might have to change your name… Naw!!! I still like Mary. Can’t wait to see the pics. 😉

  2. It is probably the best haircut she’s had in the last 10 years. It is really her in so many ways.

  3. Urgh- been there with the miscommunication at work. So annoying that we get blamed when we’re just doing what we’re told to do.

  4. I love your boss. My mum’s having the same kinds of problems at work, and since my dad’s useless with, you know, being supportive and stuff, I’m in charge of emotional responses (of all people), and I spend a lot of my time wishing that her boss was more like yours.

    But as an outsider to the world of work, hearing about such situations always reminds me of the oneupmanship you could find in every school around the globe, and it’s saddening that adults behave like that by choice. As far as I can tell, it’s always those who don’t deserve to be treated badly who end up on the receiving end. Sigh (and hugs!).

    And YES, let’s see the hair please! Mine’s been short for years and I forget what long hair was like… 😀

    -JC

    • Well, we’ll see if I can get the pics worked out. 🙂

      And it’s very true that it’s much like high school. Every time I hear someone telling a kid who’s being bullied that, “It will get better after high school,” I want to slap the person saying it. The physical threats may taper off, but there will be bulying for our entire lives to some extent for the simple matter that people are different and some are threatened by this. I do think that severe, overt bullying is something that needs to be dealt with swiftly. And we should teach our children how wrong it is to treat people that way…but it’s even there for adults.

      • I know I’m doing the reply-to-the-reply-to-the-reply-and-so-on-ad-infinitum thing again, but you’ve put it so well that I couldn’t resist. Spot on and well said. That’s all I have to say. 🙂

        -JC

Leave a Reply

 
