Back to the grindstone

After such a good result for my dad and a relaxing weekend, coming back to work wasn’t easy.  Especially when I woke up with a headache that hasn’t gone away yet.

I did find out when I got here that one of the email boxes I watch had been down since early afternoon on Friday.  It came back up shortly after I got here, but there was a backlog of things to deal with.  So that made the beginning of the shift interesting.

I did get some rice and broccoli-cheese-asparagus soup made before I came in.  I now have brown rice for the rest of week, some of which is mixed with the soup.  That’s what I had for lunch before I cam in.  To change things up, I have a small serving of rice, a couple hot dogs, and green beans for dinner.  Simple, but at least I remembered to cook.  I should be good for the week.  I did defrost some chicken that I’ll have to cook when I get home or first thing in the morning.  Planning on cooking it on my little indoor grill, then cutting it up to use for different things.  I’ll add it to the cheesy rice for some meals.  Others, I’ll add gravy to the chicken and some rice, adding brussels sprouts.  I think this will work out well.  Since I have milk, I might even make some hot cereal/rice pudding type stuff for breakfast.  I also have noodles to cook up as an alternative to the rice.   Even though there’s not a ton of variety there, I think I’ll do okay with those options.  🙂

My rice cooker is wonderful now that I am really getting used to using it.  I am looking forward to eating more healthy dishes.  This might not be as fancy as I sometimes am, but it is fairly healthy food that will last me all week for lunch and dinner.  And I do have cereal and other options for a third meal.  Since I don’t have tons of time during the week to cook, I am proud that I have worked this out, though.  Soon, I’ll get the steaming part figured out.

Until then, I am still able to work toward my healthier diet, even when I don’t have time.

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on June 11, 2012.

9 Responses to “Back to the grindstone”

  1. Sounds a lot like what I do. I cook in batches for the week. Then I mix and match. When I cook chicken I often cook enough for a few weeks and then freeze in containers enough for 3 or 4 meals and pull as needed. I mostly do it because I’m lazy.

    • I should actually do it more often and with better organization. This is probably the first time in quite a while that I actually thought about how to use all of the pieces together, but differently. And I’m with you on the lazy.

      But I am completely aware of my sloth-like tendencies!

      So it’s all good. 😉

  2. Cooking is probably the thing I struggle with the most at home. I really like the idea of the brown rice and the soup- might try it myself.

  3. glad you are doin good girly!!!

  4. Hey! I nominated you for the Sunshine Award! You can read about it here: http://butshescrazy.com/2012/06/13/more-awards/

  5. I’ve just nominated you for the Reader Appreciation Award. 🙂 You can read more about it here if you’d like: http://mybipolarbubble.com/2012/06/16/i-thank-you/. Please don’t feel you need to accept it if you don’t want to. No hard feelings if you don’t. I just wanted to nominate you ’cause I enjoy reading your blog and think you deserve it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
