I can’t even tell you how weird this is…

So my dad got through his procedure just fine.  Was a model patient and everything went like a charm in the cath lab.  He came upstairs to a private room (huge, by the way) and settled in to wait.  Because they have to insert the catheter for the procedure (heart cath, not urine) through an artery, he has to be still for 2 hours, then they remove the catheter.  Sitting here while they hold pressure to make sure he doesn’t bleed out is really difficult.  There’s nothing I can do to help.  I know the concepts behind it and everything, but sitting here watching is the strangest thing to me.

I am not sure if I am dissociating or only just now absorbing the reality of everything.  I just know that I feel disconnected but scared at the same time.

And now that some time has passed since I started this, he’s talking and his blood is clotting.  I can breathe now.  I know I love my family, but I guess this is showing me just how much.

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on June 8, 2012.

9 Responses to “I can’t even tell you how weird this is…”

  1. Glad your dad is on the mend 🙂

  2. Thank God things went well. Were any of your other family members there? I was just wondering because you said you wished your family was closer. Now take a breather girl!

  3. Glad it turned out okay. Keep me in the loop!

  4. TAOTBM,
    I’m happy to read your dad is ok… Take care of yourself too, right?
    Le Clown

  5. I’m glad everything went well (and apologies for not commenting before now). Hugs to you and the rest of the family, and keep breathing! 🙂

    -JC

Leave a Reply

 
