Creativity

Sometimes it seems as though my brain can only focus on one creative endeavor at a time.  To elaborate, it seems as though I am either writing or doing visually artistic stuff, but it is rare for me to be able to switch back and forth fairly easily.  That is the point I am trying to reach, though.

I want to be able to spend time painting ceramics like I did this weekend, go home and draw/paint (which I did do on Saturday), then write the next day.  I don’t know if it’s that I was artistically drained or just me being lazy, but I had absolutely no inclination to do any writing Sunday or Monday.  I am going to try to do some writing tonight if I can find/make the time.  I’m not feeling my best physically, but I am trying to ignore that.  I want to push through to finish my shift and possibly get some writing done as well.  Although I haven’t been writing a lot, I have been writing a little every few days.  So I am progressing on my current story, even if it is at a glacial speed.  I do need to kick it into gear on that since I am hoping to complete it and edit it for a holiday call.

It is slightly intimidating since I am writing one of my characters as a Jewish Dean of a university. He is trying to explain the holiday of Chanukah without drowning people in details.  His love interest is a wolf shapeshifter.  Interestingly enough, because Jewish calendars are lunar, the New Moon falls right in the middle of Chanukah.  So I am debating whether that will have some sort of effect on the werewolves.  Because of the way I am building this world, I can really do anything I want with the shifting concept.  I do love world-building when I get to take something people have seen for years and twist it just enough to make it new(ish).

But that’s what I’m planning on working on tonight.

If I can work things out so I do my writing during the week and my painting and drawing on the weekends, that would work for me, too.  That would make the writing even more of a “job” for me.  I always want to love writing, don’t get me wrong.  But if I could get my head into the groove of writing every day during the week like a job, my chances of getting published and continuing to get published go up pretty drastically.  And loving your work is one of the best things anyone can do.  I do love my current job,  but if I could get paid to write…even better!

But, I am going to close this up so I can try to do some of that writing.  😉

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on June 5, 2012.

7 Responses to “Creativity”

  1. I was surprised to see this. You haven’t been writing in your blog this soon after another blog. It was a nice surprise!! I wish I was creative!! Girl, you have so much talent. Don’t fret about how much you can get done, be thankful that you have such a choice of things to do creatively. You are wonderful and you don’t even know it!! You cook, you write, you paint, you draw, you even clean!!! You have it all. If I knew you I would marry you!! LOL

  2. I seem to have the opposite problem: I can write all I like, but the drawing just isn’t coming anymore. I sit down with my pencils and just feel stuck!

    Your story sounds really cool and totally the sort of thing I’d read. Hope you get back into the swing.

    Rachel

    • The one thing I’ve learned about drawing (and writing for that matter) is putting pencil to paper is the place to start. Just start doodling, eventually something will come to you. Although, I will admit in my case that my drawings tend to come from photographs. Thanks for the compliment! I certainly hope publishers like the story. 🙂

  3. I have a special Award for you so come and see it and accept it!!!
    http://carlarenee45.wordpress.com/2012/06/07/special-award-blush-im-gonna-flirt-a-bit-lol/

Leave a Reply

 
