I didn’t mean to…

disappear on y’all.  I’ve had a bit of a dip in my mood lately, and it’s made it difficult for me to write, in any form.  I am probably going to be having some mood issues for the next few weeks, but I will try to keep up a little better.  I’ve been dealing with insomnia, so that is exacerbating the issues.  But I’ll whine about that later.

Right now I am thinking pretty good thoughts about this weekend.  Although I had a bit of an issue with my stomach and general lethargy on Saturday and Sunday, yesterday went very well.  [For those not in the US, Monday was a federal holiday and many people don’t work.  It is often a paid holiday like it was for me.]  I got the apartment to the point where I would have company.  It’s nowhere near what my mom expects, but I was comfortable, so I was very proud of that.  I will admit that the insomnia assisted greatly.  As a matter of fact, now that I think about it, I might be entering a hypomanic phase.  I’ll have to tell my friends to keep an eye on me.  Anyway, I woke up before 6am Monday morning.  Still not sure I would have the apartment presentable by the time I needed to go pick up my friend, I started cleaning.  I did get it to that point, so I picked him up at 11 and brought him back to my place where we got the food started in crockpots and most of the veggie chopping for the summer salad.

Around 1:30 we got to the ceramics place we like.  Painting for several hours is always relaxing.  I’ve been going there for over a year, including having my birthday there last year.  I’ll post some pics for y’all of several of the completed projects I have when I get a chance.  This time I painted a candy bowl that I think will come out really well.  I shall have to see how it all works out, though.  Because the paints and glazes used don’t look like their true colors when being painted, it can get confusing and look completely different when the piece is finished.  I am looking forward to seeing.

We made a veggie stew and a pork roast in the crockpots.  Sadly, I forgot to turn the roast on, then the socket it was plugged into didn’t work.  So it didn’t finish until this morning.  It came out okay.  Due to the cooking time, it was a little overcooked.  It was falling apart, though.  So I am going to make a gravy out of the juices.  I cooked it in a home-made mixture of blueberries, lemon curd, raspberry balsamic vinegar, Riesling, chipotle chili powder, and sage.  I liked it, but next time I will use real lemons, less wine, and more of both the seasonings.  Still, for a complete experiment, it came out well.  After I make the gravy, I will have to see how I like it.  The stew and the summer salad (sweet corn, kidney beans, zucchini, yellow squash, cucumber, beets, carrots, celery, sweet onion with a sweet pomengranate dressing) were a complete hit.  I am going to freeze some of the roast for my friend and see what he thinks.  🙂  Our other friend took some home, so that’s a compliment for both.

Along with that, I actually got some laundry done today.  Of course, since I had a hard time going to sleep, I am exhausted.  But I am proud of myself for getting it done anyway.  Yes, I was down to the very last of my wardrobe, but you and I both know that it can still be impossible to accomplish what needs to be done.  I also remembered to put in the work orders I have been putting off because my apartment was a mess.  Of course, the stove, which I have been concerned about because it makes a weird sound when the burners are on, behaved perfectly when the guy was there.  Did get my air filter changed.  Weirdest thing…it was clean.  And I haven’t had it changed since I moved in.  Apparently I have almost no dust in the air in my apartment.  Now, on the shelves is a whole different story.  lol 

When it comes down to it, though, I am very proud of myself.  Whether I am starting into a hypomanic phase or not, I rarely accomplish that much cleaning in two days.  I will be posting pics as soon as I upload them.  🙂

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on May 29, 2012.

12 Responses to “I didn’t mean to…”

  1. Im glad that you are back girl! I hope you get some sleep now. I had surgery Friday. It was an outpatient thing but it was a put to sleep ordeal. What ever they did, it has helped me with the pain amazingly. So I am celebrating that plus it’s my birthday. So you gotta cook something for me lol. Get some rest!

    • I slept pretty darn well last night. 🙂 I am thrilled to hear that you are getting pain relief from the surgery. *hugs*

      As for birthdays, mine is coming up. I have no problems with getting older, but I hate birthdays. Maybe it’s just me, but they seem to breed expectations and disappointment. I do hope you enjoy yours and someone remembers to make you feel as special as you are.

      • are you a gemini? lol yeah, when my kids and their companions came a couple weeks ago it was kinda for my birthday and mothers day and mom made steaks last weekend after my surgery and she said that is my birthday dinner so today I am just being totally lazy and doing what I want. Of course then everyday is my birthday lol. Glad you finally got some sleep girly 😉

      • I am a Gemini. As long as you are happy, it’s all good.

      • you do have a birthday coming up then don’t you lol

  2. Hello again – I’m back from exams, and I think I’ve caught up on all your posts so am able to comment at last… First of all, of course, giant digital hugs for the mood drop!

    Still, I’m glad the day was such a successful one for you, looking forward to the pics as they appear, and, erm… can I borrow the air over there, please? (Methinks the London smog has been taking its toll on my common sense lately…)

    -JC

    • Heya JC,

      Sorry I haven’t been commenting much myself. I have been reading, though and it does sound like things might just be moving forward for you in the best way. 🙂

      I hope to have pics posted later today. As for the air over here, I am pretty lucky since we are fairly flat around here. Everything just blows away. But the sun can blind you and burn you to a crisp in minutes. Trust me, the feel of your brain cooking in your skull is never a good one. lol Nah, I understand that sometimes the weather, the people around us, the loud neighbor next door, etc. can have an unwarranted and unwanted effect on our moods and thought processes. Hope things start getting more “common-sensical” for you.

      • Thank you – me too! Progress is always good, and I’ve been rather enjoying posting about it while it’s there… Looking forward to the pics 🙂

  3. Good for you! Hypomanic or not, feeling motivated is most definitely a good thing. Even better, it gives you a sense of accomplishment! Take care — here’s hoping it’s either not hypomania or, if it is, it’s a gentle episode. Sending positive thoughts your way.

  4. I think it’s funny how you commented that the apartment is nowhere near what your Mum expects! I’m still like this too- parents always seem to have this ability to affect our way of seeing things, even as grown adults!

    I’m totally hungry now reading about all your food. You sound like a great cook. I’m of the school of “really can’t be bothered” cooking.

    Mmm, might have to get some tea now….

    • I do have to say that my Mom does have a completely different idea of cleanliness than I do. But, as she said in one of her comments on another post, apparently I have hated cleaning since I was 4 or 5. *lol* So she shouldn’t be surprised it never changed. And to give her props, she doesn’t expect my home to be kept like hers.

      I do like to think I am a good cook. At least good enough that my friends like my food. Mmmmm…tea. Might have to pull some out of my desk.

Leave a Reply

 
