Writing for the WIN!!!!!!!!!

This weekend I was supposed to get together with a friend and cook.  Sadly, that didn’t happen.  What did happen, was an immense amount of writing on Sunday. 

I started working on a new short story somewhere over a week ago.  The concept is one I’ve had for a long time, but I decided to leave the story I had started and try for a short story based in the same world.  I say world because it’s a paranormal.  It’s set in contemporary times, but one of my main characters is a vampire. 

I love my characters and am having a lot of fun.  How many vampire characters can you think of that would be willing to assist a solar car team?  😉  Michael is a professor and is brought in after another professor was involved in a huge scandal.  He falls for one of the students on the team.  (Yes, I know this has to be handled carefully.)  Luckily, he’s not the student’s professor.

But I went from a bit over 5000 words on Friday to over 13000 words by the time I went to sleep last night.  To give you a better idea, using Word, I went from page 13 to page 32 using an 11.5 font and 1.5 line spacing.  I am hoping to submit this short story to the same company my writing partner is being published through.  They have a special call that I think my story will fit.  The deadline is 5/12, though.  So lot’s of work yet to do.  I still have to finish the story and edit it.  I know that I will submit the story no matter what, but the deadline is a good goal.  I am going to try my hardest to complete it and submit it in time.  Luckily, the requirement is 15000 words, so I have plenty to do in the story to make that minimum limit.

So here’ hoping I can make it!  Hopefully everyone had a good weekend and will understand if I’m not real active for the next few days, although I will try.  🙂

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on May 7, 2012.

8 Responses to “Writing for the WIN!!!!!!!!!”

  1. good luck girl! I love vampires!

  2. Good luck. Hope you make the deadline.

    LAC

  3. So glad that you were able to write.

Leave a Reply

 
