Quick and Dirty

Taking a quick lunch here at work, so I thought I would post a quick update.

I feel like the work I am doing is truly visible.  I also am feeling pretty good about the sheer amount of work I have been able to accomplish.  Although I have been listening to my coworkers and being polite as well, I am not allowing them to get to me.  Nor am I allowing their little attempts to disconcert me or make me look incompetent to bother me too much.  I have had to ask questions today, but that was more to prevent having to do the same job twice.  I have dealt with all of the emails (alot) and been able to deal with the other documents we deal with as well.

I have admitted where I am not trained to deal with things, which I think looks better to my boss than trying to hide it.  As well, they know what training I am lacking that way.  I am not saying I am perfect, by any means.  But I am more and more convinced that this job is one I truly enjoy now and will for a long time.  And if I were to move up in the ranks, I think it would only get more interesting.  I know that work isn’t always fun, but it doesn’t have to be miserable, either.  I have already spoken to my boss about sitting down with him (and possibly my other boss) to go over what they think I am doing right, what I need training on, and where I am going within the companies.  It’s my one year anniversary and I think that’s a good time to have that discussion.

I do have to work tomorrow.  Not fun since I have to be in at noon, but Yay! for overtime.  🙂

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on April 27, 2012.

12 Responses to “Quick and Dirty”

  1. good for you, your attitude is right on target. Forget the what the people around you try to do to your confidence and focus on the future 😉

  2. so good to be able to take the time to reflect on what you’ve accomplished 🙂

    • I sometimes forget how much I love my job when I allow myself to get distracted by the infighting. Oddly enough, long shifts with lots of work to accomplish remind me. Although they are exhausting, they remind me how efficient and competent I can be.

  3. If you want to move up, you will have to work well with co-workers. I have no doubt you can move up. Yes it is a great idea to request for evaluation before they do. Initially email them if you can send it privately. This something you don-t want going anywhere but to your bosses.
    LOVE YA

    • One of my bosses already knows I want to talk to him about where I am going within the company. I need to email both of them to set up a time that is convenient to them both. I do get along with both of my bosses, so that is a good thing.
      Love you, too.

  4. I’m glad work is going well for you. I should be back in work soon & it’s good to hear of those managing well.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

 
