The Wonderful World of Misery! Many Entrances! Few exits.

I had a major allergy flare-up last night…yest…Monday night into Tuesday morning.  After a meager four hours of sleep I was awake with a splitting headache, exhaustion, nausea, and cramping, along with the regular allergy crap.  You might think that some of those symptoms don’t have anything to do with allergies, but they do for lucky little me.  [Not that little, but that’s beside the point.]

Since I knew that I wouldn’t be able to function well enough for work, I called in.  I went back to sleep for a few hours, and was awake around 2.  Even though my brain was foggy, I figured that the laundry that desperately needed to be done was within my capabilities.  Over two and a half hours later, I made it into the laundry room with my stuff.  I do three loads at a time, since that is what fits in my laundry baskets.  I have a hamper that holds more, but it is just a pain to carry.  So.

I used my phone to keep in contact with people, although it was making me a little crazy by dropping connections.  I got back to my apartment around 7 and thought it would be cool to make pancakes.  I finally got them made between 9 and 10.  [Now do you see why work would have been a bad idea?]  Didn’t come out as well as I wanted them to, but…edible.

So I had a thick slice of ham that I fried up and the pancakes.  All is well in BB’s world, right?

Well, the timing was good because my alarm for my meds went off at 10, like it does every night.  But I was finishing up the pancakes, so I turned off the alarm and planned to take my meds when I ate.  And promptly forgot.

So it was a lot closer to midnight when I remembered that I needed to take my meds.  I went to get them and thought about how long ago I had eaten.  My stomach is a bit sensitive to Lithium, and I was going to have to take the whole dose since I didn’t take anything earlier in the day.  So I ate a small apple.  Did you notice that the pancakes are the first thing I mention eating?  Yeah, that’s because it was the first thing I ate all day.  For those of you who are gasping in outrage/surprise at my stupidity, there are two reasons for this.

Number one, there are times that I flat out forget to eat.  It’s not done on purpose, I just forget.  Now, you might ask, but don’t you get hungry? And here’s where the second reason comes in.

Number two, when I am having an allergy flare-up the constant drainage I have daily goes from a light stream to a raging flood.  All of that hitting my stomach causes nausea, heartburn and other issues…at first.  For whatever reason, if my stomach is dead empty, all of those symptoms go away.  I know it makes no sense, it just works that way.  And I don’t feel hungry in the meantime.

So I wasn’t not eating on purpose.  [That’s a double negative…but not.]  But when I did eat, I went from no stomach symptoms to nausea, heartburn, and pain shortly after eating the apple.  So I have to go to my alternative treatment for these symptoms.  So I am eating a few slices of bread, took some heartburn stuff (yes, I know that I shouldn’t take it this close to the lithium, but I didn’t have a choice), and will have to keep my stomach full.

I know, it’s a PITA and makes no sense.  When my allergies flare like this, I either eat nothing, or I end up eating tons of carbs to quiet the raging fight in my stomach.  I really do try to keep to the eating thing.

It irritates me to no end, though, because I wanted to go to bed early.  I have to be at work at 11 tomorrow, so I was looking forward to it.  As you can see, that didn’t quite work out for me.

So…my headache is gone.  I certainly hope my brain is moving faster tomorrow.  The stomach issues seem to be hanging around; and the generalized allergy stuff (runny nose, watery eyes, cough) is worse than normal.  Yay me.

Can I get off this ride?

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on April 11, 2012.

7 Responses to “The Wonderful World of Misery! Many Entrances! Few exits.”

  1. I’m sorry you are having allergy troubles. I have a lot of that too. Do you have anything you can take for the drainage and stuff?

  2. Firstly, I love seeing that someone else has trouble with terminology when it comes to late night/early mornings – I never know the correct word to use either.

    Most importantly, I’m sorry to hear you had such trouble – these things are always so badly timed (not that there’s ever a good time, but you know what I mean!). I’ve been known to forget to eat too – life’s such fun, is it not…? Le sigh.

    Hugs again, if you need them, and I hope your allergies give you a break soon!
    -JC

    • I agree that, although there’s no real “good” time, some times are better than others. I am doing better about the eating today. Probably because I came in early today for an award “dinner” here at work. But I will be eating again later, so that should be good. 🙂

      Thanks for the hugs! I just hope my allergies scale back to their normal state (of lesser misery).

  3. Hopefully today is better for you.

  4. hope you are eating today! I am dehydrated really bad for some reason, the Dr said and Im running a low grade fever with very low BP. I will have to wait for the blood work to find out what all this means.
    I worry about you forgetting to eat. then in a way im jealous of you forgetting to eat lol. But both of us need to take better care of ourselves! Hope you have a great day!

    • That doesn’t sound good! I have to be very careful about dehydration. Not only because I am on lithium, which dehydration can cause toxicity, but because I get kidney stones if I am not careful. So I tend to drink a lot of water. Which reminds me I need to get up and get some. 🙂

      I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

 
