Blinded by the walls of their miniscule worlds.

I was talking to one of my friends when we got onto the subject of the people around us not noticing something that seemed pretty big.  Whether it is a new haircut, new clothes, a new tattoo, or an complete emotional change, when the people around us do not notice, that can make us feel diminished as people.  Even when we dislike the person, their ignorance of what seems obvious to us (even if we are trying to hide it) is annoying and dismissive.  To us, it means that we are beneath their notice.  Obviously if we had any importance whatsoever, these strangers and acquaintances would notice these changes.  [As a side bar, when I have a change and my friends notice a change in a positive way, I discount their opinion as being biased.]

 

When she started to get upset, I told her, “It’s just because they are blinded by the walls of their miniscule worlds.”   That statement is truer than any of us want to admit.

Working in a short cubicle gives me an interesting outlook on my coworkers.  When I am sitting down, I pretty much only see what is directly in front of me.  I can see the desks in the same section as I am, of which there are four.  Two of them I use and the other two are used by my group, but only for storage.  The two coworkers that are actually in my department and section sit in desks on the other side of my short wall.  So it is fairly easy for us to communicate, but I cannot see what is on their desks or what they are actually working on.  So I have some idea of what they do, but I cannot see it while they are doing it.  And the same goes for them when it comes to me.  Combine all of that with the fact that we work different shifts that only overlap for a few hours, and we each only have a certain amount of insight as to what the other person does.  And my other coworkers on second shift are over the tall wall.  So even though I spend more time around them, I still only have a certain amount of insight into what they do.  I have to stand up completely to talk to them comfortably.

So thinking about all of this and the way we feel dismissed or ignored by others at times gave me an epiphany.  At least I thought it was a good way to think about things.  I am most frustrated by people around me that notice something one day, then not the next.  Here’s my thinking process (sort of): When they noticed the change the first time, but they don’t say anything now, does that mean that they don’t care, I was beneath their notice, I look/sound/am stupid/ignorant/ugly, or something else far more negative?  But what if they are like me in my cubicle? 

With headphones in, I don’t notice most noises.  When I am working/writing/posting I look down at the keyboard and up at the screen.  I often don’t even see things in my peripheral vision.  It’s not because I don’t want to talk to the people around me, I am just focused on what I am doing right at this moment.  When I don’t have the headphones in, I notice the noises and conversations around me.  When I am not focused on my work, I look around me more frequently.  So I notice things differently depending on my personal situation.  And that can change in a moment.

If we take the concept that everyone views the world from their own little cubicle, we might better understand why they notice a change one day and not the next.  The day that I am in a bad mood and put my headphones on as soon as I walk in and rarely look up from my keyboard is completely different to me than the day that I have the headphones on and look around frequently to see what everyone else is doing cause work is easy.  Looking into my cubicle from over the wall, these two situations might look exactly the same to anotheer person.  They might be upset when I notice them one day and not the next because, to me, the situations are not at all the same.

So if that is true for me, might it not be true for the people around us that don’t notice us? 

Something to think about.  They might just be royal jackasses that need their heads surgically removed from their nether regions.

The Award for those special people we all know.

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on April 5, 2012.

3 Responses to “Blinded by the walls of their miniscule worlds.”

  1. I’m still going to think that she’s an unobservant moron but I can see your point.

  2. This is definitely something to think about. I get hurt when people don’t notice something that I feel that they should, or something that I know that I would notice. But, then there are the times when I miss something big myself and then I feel like a total hypocrite that I got upset. But, you’re so right. If we can all just realize that we all have moments of intense focus and some without then it might make it easier to deal with those times of being ignored. However, like you say, some people just need to pull their heads out of their “nether regions” and smell the fresh air. 🙂

    • I definitely agree that there are those who do need a breath of fresh air. 😉

      I do find it hard not to get offended when someone misses something that I feel should be very obvious to another. When I am the one that missed it, I realize they might have had reasons as well, but…but…but. Yeppers. We like our little cubicle and believe that everyone should be paying attention to it. And so do they.

Leave a Reply

 
