It’s no wonder I have issues with going outside!

No, this is not about my social anxiety.

Actually, this is about my allergies.  I woke up today with a headache.  This is not an uncommon occurence for me as I get tension headaches as well.  To be honest, I get tension headaches, allergy headaches, weather change headaches…lots and lots of headaches.

But today is all about my allergies.  I know there is a tension component to this headache, but it is mostly allergies.  When I wake up with a runny nose, post-nasal drip (and that sound way better than what is actually going on), watery eyes, and a headache, I know the day is going to be filled with fun and happiness. Yeah.  Not so much.

And for those who are curious, I get to have fun with allergies all year long!  Yeah, I am sooo not kidding.  Although they get better and worse, they are always there.  Many of you are probably thinking, “Why don’t you get allergy shots then, you moron?”

Alas, the last time I was checked I was not a candidate for shots.  It is not that I am severely allergic to one or two things (which is what the shots are designed for), but that I am a little bit allergic to freaking everything!  Ah, you doubt me?  The last time they tested me (yes, I need to be tested again, yay), I showed allergies to: dust, dogs, cats, grass (I shit you not), pigweed (I don’t keep kosher), and something else.  I think when they test me again, we will probably add cedar and some other trees in there.  I don’t know if I am allergic to mold or it is just an irritant.

And all of that doesn’t include the medication allergies or the barley I am also allergic to.  *Sigh*

To add to all of this fun, I have what are called bronchial allergies.  What does that mean, you ask?  (Or don’t as you might have given up reading this already.)  Well, it means that I have had bronchitis 3 times in the last 15 months.  One of those times was severe enough to inflame the muscles of my chest wall and lasted for a month.  Go me.  Although I don’t have asthma, when my allergies flare up, I get a horrible hacking cough that can be heard in the next county (and remember, in TX, everything is bigger).

What is all this leading up to?  Nothing really, I just wanted to complain because my head hurts and I don’t want to get out of bed for work.  My face feels like someone hit me with a baseball bat.

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on March 29, 2012.

4 Responses to “It’s no wonder I have issues with going outside!”

  1. poor child. What about otc allergy meds?

  2. Some days you just can’t catch a break.

Leave a Reply

 
