I have been doing a lot of thinking this weekend and last week. I will go into more detail later…maybe. But a big part of it is just like what Laura says. So why re-write what she has said so well?

Bipolar For Life

What do people mean when they say that?  I haven’t the foggiest idea.  In fact, I haven’t the foggiest idea of what most people mean when they say anything at all.  This has been one of the hardest parts about being the vessel that carries my particular brain around.  I’m never quite sure whether my understanding of another human being’s thoughts and utterances ever even approaches what they really meant.  I waste untold quantities of time and energy worrying about this, my inability to feel connected with most human beings.  

I think this is one of the reasons I bond so closely with animals.  Communication with them is all about eye contact, body language, facial expression, smells….speaking of which, I got aggravated in the middle of last night with a smell that was lingering from the previous day’s cooking.  Being the Jewish Sabbath, it was not appropriate for me…

View original post 265 more words

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on March 12, 2012.

3 Responses to “”

  1. I have always had that problem. I overthink things too, so I spend a lot of time trying to figure out what everybody means by what they say and if I am missing something.

    • I have come to the conclusion that I just need to give others room for their own issues and ignorance. By no means do I mean that everyone is a self-centered idiot like my coworkers. But I also am fully aware that the majority of people are wrapped up in their own little worlds and have no concept of opening their heads and hearts to the people around them unless given a compelling reason to do so. The thing I find funny is that the people other feel are weird, odd, different, etc. are almost always more accepting of people’s differences than “normal” people. [In this case, by normal, I mean those that follow societal conventions 90% of the time and would fall under the heading of popular when in high school.] I have a mood disorder that means my behavior can be erratic, so I watch what I do and say to attempt to keep it from bleeding all over the people in my life, be they friends, family, or acquaintances. The “normal” people, though, have no compunction with blowing up at me when their own lives have gone to hell, even though it hasn’t a damn thing to do with me.

      So now I just assume that I am missing something, but if the person isn’t important to me, then neither is what I am missing. Might be a little cold-hearted, but I am not going to continue tearing myself up for not understanding other people when they couldn’t care less if they understand me.

Leave a Reply

 
