Feeling Arty!

I seem to be moving into a more artistic phase.  I actually wrote over 700 words the other night.  I’ve been thinking of working with watercolor pencils, as well.  Due to my cough coming back with a vengeance, I left work early today.

So I broke out my General’s watercolor pencils and my Derwent Inktense pencils (per the company, these are not the same as watercolor pencils).  I had this really pretty picture of a bird that I thought would be fun to work with.  I started with the background (of course).

Now, the background came out much more yellow than I had planned, so I decided to find another bird to draw.  I found a vermillion flycatcher.  I figured this little guy would definitely stand out against the yellow/orange background.

My inspiration

As you can see, he is on twigs, so I had to put them in first.

   The upper twigs still need to be gone over with the wet brush.  You can see that the colors are a little different with the addition of the water.  Makes it interesting to choose colors since this is the first time I have worked with the inktense pencils.

Now I have him drawn in.

After I went over him once with the wet brush, I let him dry and went back over with the pencils and brush again.

But he’s off to the right and the picture is completely unbalanced.

I decided to do a little research on the flycatcher.  I found out they will sit still for hours waiting for prey to come by.  They also catch butterflies to impress the females during mating season.  So I looked up what flowers/bushes attract butterflies here in TX.  It appears that Aster bushes will do it.  So I am going to attempt to add in asters on the left…

Hunting grounds

There are a few other things I want to fix, as well as adding the asters, but for now…I think that is enough for today.  My cough is getting bad again and I need to get some sleep.

[Edit] I have to say, looking at it, I see so many flaws.  I know that with pieces in the past, I have been told that others do not see those flaws.  I wonder what that says about all of us as human beings.  If I saw the same drawing from someone else, I might think it is very well done.  Because it is my creation, I see only the flaws and errors.

Am I the same way when I look at myself?  Do I judge myself that much more harshly than I judge others? It is something for me to think about.[/Edit]

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on February 29, 2012.

7 Responses to “Feeling Arty!”

  1. Really, really pretty hon. I like it a lot and love that you researched it :). hugs!

  2. Oh, and… FIRST COMMENT! Take that boys! 😛

  3. Silly girl! I am glad you like it since you will probably be getting something similar at some point as a gift. 🙂

  4. Have you ever seen the video Chinese Translation, by M. Ward? Your beautiful drawing reminds me of it…

    • Thank you so much for the compliment! I watched the video (what I could understand, but I am medicated) and understood what you meant. The funny thing about it is the type of drawing that is exemplified in the video (I think) is an old Asian practice of silk screening color, then using ink over the top. The Inktense pencils I used actually state they are good for silk screening! 🙂

  5. You did a wonderful job. Art is something that my children are talented in but they didn’t get any of it from me lol.

    • It’s funny that you say that. When I was a kid, I was told I had no artistic talents. I was actually told I couldn’t draw…by an art teacher. Apparently, it took some time for my eyes, brain, and hands to catch up with each other. And maybe my patience as well. So I am thrilled that you recognize talent in your children, but when was the last time you tried something artistic? It might be time. Additionally, you can at least spend time with the kids while you are all doing something. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
