Sick and tired of being sick and tired.

I am going on my third day of being sick now.  I have lost my voice and called in to work.

So I have nothing to do today.  Yes, I could write, except my brain is pretty foggy and I am not sure how well that would go over since I have no idea how much sense I am making today.  I know…this is writing.  But if it doesn’t make sense, well…I am pretty sure none of y’all will call out a lynch mob.  Might do some drawing later, but I keep yawning which makes seeing well for drawing difficult.  But we will see how I feel later today.

I do have to figure out food soon.  Just not sure what I want to eat and what I have to eat (2 entirely different things right now).  I am trying to keep up my fluids.

I know what I want to write my informational post on but I figure that should wait until I am naking alittle more sense.  I can see it now, mu fumbling around and all of you not haveing a clue what I am writing about.  I am pretty sure that would defeat the purpose of the post.  So it has been delayed, but not forgotten.

What about y’all?  What do you do for comfort when you are sick?  I love to drink lots of tea.  I also am thinking of making up some chicken soup.  Might be a mix, but it is still chicken soup.  My vice when I am really sick (like a month of severe bronchitis) is the old Cambell’s chicken noodle soup.  I am not talking about the good stuff with veggies and everything in it.  I am talking the condensed stuff with too much salt, microscopic pieces of chicken, and long skinny noodles.  I know it’s horribly bad for me…but it brings back memories of my childhood, which remind me of a time when, if I was sick, someone else took care of me.  Oooooh!  When I get a chance, I should see if Lipton still makes the packets.  We used to get those in a cup when our throats were really sore. The noodles were so little, it was no problem drinking it.

I think a lot of my choildhood memories revolve around food.  More than that, I think a lot revolve around noodles…  I remember thos two noodle soups, noddle kuchen?  Not sure if that is the right word…kugle! Okay, the two noodle soups, noodle kugel, buttered or cheesy noodles, of course mac-n-cheese, spaghetti o’s, and trips to Olive Garden when I was older.  Hmmmm…lots of noodles in my life.

Sorry if I am making y’all hungry.  I’m making myself hungry, that’s for sure.  Just ned to find the energy to go make something.  I hope you are all healthy out there.  If not, I hope you find those things that comfort you in your illness.

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on February 24, 2012.

12 Responses to “Sick and tired of being sick and tired.”

  1. aww, makes me wish I could run to the store and find that soup and bring some to you. I would if we were neighbors!

  2. One thing i do when i have a head cold/flu is go into the bathroom, close the door, stuff a towel under the towel and turn the hot water from the tub and sink on. I stay in there as long as i can with the steam and heat.

  3. you make me giggle with your funny words 🙂

    here’s hoping your better by sunday night! in the meantime i will write things for you to read to keep you going!

    hugs!

  4. When I was home, Dad’s chicken soup. Now that I’m married and boiling chicken like that makes my wife nauseous, I don’t really have a comfort food. I think the best I have is hot tea with honey.

  5. I’m sorry that you are sick! Food was important in my home, too. A favorite when we had coughs or sore throats was honey & lemon “tea” (mostly hot water!).
    I love that you write “y’all” so much in your blog! Sometimes I’m afraid people will laugh at me, which is of course silly! I’m from the South and dad gum proud of it!

    • I’m a big fan of lemon tea. Although I don’t have any right now, it is on my grocery list. Currently, I have creme brulee roiboos loose tea and sweet blueberry loose tea. At work I have roiboos in bags and a mixed berry blend in pyramid bags.

      As for the y’all propensity, although I have no problem using it when I talk, I do tend to use it less when writing. But when I am sick and tired, it tend to come to the fore a lot more. If you spoke to me right now (if you could understand my squeeky, mostly missing voice) you would hear a lot more drawl than normal, too. Personally, y’all is a proper word like any other. I have never understood people that look down on those who use it. Unlike “yous guys” (improper English completely) and you guys (implications of gender bias), y’all is both proper English and does not assume the gender of the people being spoken to.

  6. Sweetie,
    Sorry I am not there to do the mommy thing and make everything better. I will call in the am. I hope you are feeling a bit better by then. I love you.

Leave a Reply

 
