Let’s talk love.

Someone reminded me today about an old situation with one of my best friends.  This friend, due to erratic behavior on my part and what was going on in that person’s life, stopped talking to me.  Some number of years passed, and we had not spoken in that time.  Out of the blue, my former friend called me.  I have had the same phone number for a very long time.  That friend reached out to me by calling my old number.  And I reached back by picking up the phone.  Now this friend and I are closer than we ever were before.  

This got me thinking about all of my friends.

It seems I make a pattern of pushing the people around me away.  My other two best friends, due to my choices and behavior, were very inconsistently present in any part of my life for some number of years.  I would forget to return calls or emails and not go places that I knew a friend would be.  (Yes, I am being generic on purpose.)  In the past three years there has been a convergence of my friends and I.  Now I cannot imagine my life without any of these three people.  So I was thinking about what factors brought all of this about.

I do think that I have been more open to having relationships, but is being open all that it took?  No.

These relationships made it this far because these three people, at some point, whether consciously or not, made the decision that they wanted to be a part of my life.  They want me to be a part of their life.  Not just now, but in five years, ten years…  They were determined to be a part of my life and took the steps to be there, whether it was calling me out of the blue, emailing me even when I didn’t respond, or convincing me to spend time with them in some other fashion.

So now I know.  THAT’S WHAT LOVE IS!

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on February 20, 2012.

5 Responses to “Let’s talk love.”

  1. Love is saying “there is something about you I cherish and it makes me want to spend time with you”. I forget where I got that from, but it’s true. I don’t have many friends, probably because I don’t like wasting time with people who “should” easily be a friend due to being a co-worker, or someone from my church / gym / hobby class, what have you. In truth, I don’t find much interesting in such people, and I’d rather be selective. Or maybe I’m just to picky.

    Either way, love you my Shoshi!

  2. Yep, that’s love. Glad I could help.

  3. Ohhhh. *hugs*

  4. Very timely post for me. I have Cyclothymia (Bipolar 2) and have the hardest time dealing with friends. I don’t deliberately push people away, but I shut down emotionally to give myself the time to process life. My true friends understand and accept this, but this week I have been hounded by people who just don’t know when to step back and give a person space. Your post reminded me that I have real friends who will wait for me however long it takes.
    xx

    • I am glad that you have friends that are there for you. People who have bipolar disorder (1 or 2) or cyclothymia can have a very hard time keeping friendships and other relationships healthy. Just remember that some of those people that are crowding you now might just not understand how to be your friend in a way that you are comfortable with.

Leave a Reply

 
