Sleep is not my friend.

So…Having trouble sleeping again tonight.  Shocker.  I think I know why, but it doesn’t seem to be helping my inability to settle down into sleep.

One of my friends is coming over tomorrow to spend time with me while I clean my apartment.  This is a good thing.  But my mind seems to be sabotaging the whole thing by racing through thought of what needs to be done, the fact that I need to be up at 10, I need to clean out my car so his daughter can fit in the back seat of my car, how embarrassed I am for him to see my actual apartment, blah, blah, blah.  I know I need to get some sleep, I just cannot seem to relax enough to do so.

I’m hoping that writing this entry will allow the thoughts out of my head and onto the screen so I can finally rest.  I hate this feeling.

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on February 18, 2012.

11 Responses to “Sleep is not my friend.”

  1. it’s 5am saturday here, and i’ve yet to slumber.
    the constant ticking of the clock until the “event” is no friend of mine either!
    hoping that you can get some rest.
    i think that i might go to starbucks now. 🙂 xxx

  2. I was up then and you didn’t let me know? Lately I hate bed time because I seem to be turning night into day and vice versa!

    • By the time I saw your reply on the previous post, it was after 4. I had no way of knowing whether you were still awake. *hugs* You know we would have gotten to talking and I would have slept even less. As it is, the local friendly debt collector woke me up early. Blah.

      I’m awake…But I’m not happy about it.

  3. hmmmmmm….. meditation? exercise?- no that wakes you up. hmmmm… bubble baths? wine? aromatherapy?— allergies?

    • Meditation might work. Not a huge fan of baths. I cannot do lavender, which is the generalized scent used for aromatherapy for bedtime. Although, if I make an actual bedtime ritual that incorporates a different scent, that might help.

      • Rose. Or something generically rain / river / water scented? I find I really like those.

  4. *hugs* Fingers crossed for tonight!

    • I did get a decent amount of sleep last night. 🙂 And I have been taking care of myself today, so I am hoping to get some good sleep tonight.

      I have stayed pretty active. Went to this huge breakfast spread my apartment complex put on, socialized with a neighbor (I know, I left the apartment and talked to people!!!), and am about to cook a few things and do dishes.

  5. I’ve been up since 2 am and it’s almost 8 pm and I still don’t feel sleepy. Time to get out the tylenol pm

    • Ouch! I certainly hope you are able to get some sleep. I actually have sleep meds, but I dislike taking them very often. Since I have a lot to do tomorrow, I am debating taking something. The last time I took it, though, I only slept 2 hours before I woke up. Ickles.

      I hope you get some great sleep and stay healthy.

Leave a Reply

 
