Must be time to go fishing!

It must be time to go fishing!  That is the only good reason to be awake at 4am other than being up all night.

For the first time in weeks, I went to bed at a decent hour.  When you work ’til midnight, 2am is pretty darn decent.  Of course, waking up 2 hours later (almost to the minute) pretty much negates the effort.  And waking up with your legs twitching badly from restless leg syndrome (RLS) makes it that much more fun.  Having been diagnosed with RLS for years, I knew there was no way I would be going back to bed anytime soon.  😦

To just make things even better, once I had been awake a few minutes, I began to notice the heartburn and stomach upset I was also suffering from.  Now, I just saw my psych on the 10th, so he is aware I am having more issues with heartburn and light nausea.  We think it is a reaction to the increase in lithium dosage.  For the last week or so, though, I have been having other symptoms.

I know abdominal cramping, more severe nausea, and other symptoms could be caused by the medication.  But it could also be the effect of a drastic change in my diet.  I have been trying to eat healthier, the way I used to.  But adding a large amount of vegetables to a diet that was sorely lacking them as well as dairy products can play havoc with the digestive system.  I have decided to wait this out for another week to see if it settles down.  If it hasn’t resolved itself to a reasonable level, I will be talking to the psych again.

So…It is now 5:30 in the morning.  I must be getting my fishing pole set up, right?  One of the happy memories I have from my childhood (whether I remember it accurately or not) is being woken by my Dad at 4am so we could get out to Lake Carlisle early to start fishing.  I remember that we kids were cranky as anything about being woken up, and we would sleep most of the way there.  But then we would start getting set up and my Dad would be there to help me with my worm and my casting.  Since I don’t have a lot of happy memories from my childhood, especially involving my Dad, this is one I treasure.

What do you do when you can’t sleep?  What activities do you wish you were doing instead of sitting up in the middle of the night trying to figure out what it will take to get back to sleep?

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on February 16, 2012.

10 Responses to “Must be time to go fishing!”

  1. Typically I’ll get a glass of water, hoping that by fixing a minor discomfort (as I always wake up thirsty), it’ll signal my body that everything’s ok to go back to sleep. Otherwise, I get online, play a silly web game or read some articles / blogs for 30-45 minutes as that’s my usual pre-sleep routine, and try to trick my brain into thinking it’s just now time to go to sleep.

  2. for a while now I have been going to bed at between 9-10pm and waking up at 2am and then at 4. I usually end up on the PC and eventually to blogs. That gets my mind flowing with everyones troubles and everyones revelations. After which all that information turns in my mind as I digest it all. I usually turn the TV on even though there is nothing to watch at that hour. I lay on the couch with my favorite blanket, wondering what I will write in my blog later on until I fall back asleep again. For some reason, I sleep better than ever then.

  3. I usually do something on my computer — writing or scrapbooking or just reading emails — and have a snack. I’ve experienced better sleep on the couch, too — once for about two months I couldn’t sleep at all in bed. I had to sleep on the couch or in the recliner. Not sure what was up with that.
    I am thankfully free of RLS since changes in meds, but I know how frustrating it is. I feel for you!

    • I do the same with eating if my stomach is what woke me up (and it has in the past). And I usually pull the computer open and do some reading. I am definitely going to have to check out sleeping on the couch/in the recliner!

      Thank you for the suggestions!

  4. I write when I can’t sleep. I know it seems counter productive to get energized to do something but leaving the bedroom, going to a cool spot in the house and writing all help me go back to sleep. I think the biggest thing is just not staying in the bedroom. Only sex and sleeping should happen in the bedroom.

    • I wish I could do that with my bedroom. And I know that it should be. I don’t have a TV in the bedroom, so that is a start. Once I get the livingroom cleaned up, the computer will go back out there.

      I think that hand writing or working on a drawng might help me. Thanks!

  5. I remember the Lake Carlisle days! We had a lot of fun! I miss those days too! Maybe you can come out in the spring or fall and we can go camping!

Leave a Reply

 
