Wild Art

I was going through some of my drawings and painting trying to get inspired.  I have found that I really only paint or draw landscapes or flowers.  I found this interesting because I hadn’t ever thought about it.  I know I don’t do portraiture, but that is because I am completely intimidated by the human body.  So what does the choice of subjects say about me? 

One of my early efforts.

Obviously, the simplicity of this painting is obvious, although, I was trying to show some texture.

The two shots of this painting definitely show more complexity and texture.  So as I paint, I am learning to see and be aware of the complexities of this world.  How does that translate to the way I see the rest of the world?  Does my artistic vision improve my standard vision?  Or does the ability to see more than the obvious make me a better artist?  I have branched out in recent months, trying new types of drawing and new subjects.  I haven’t been painting, but I might be soon.  Lets add that to the numerous reasons to get the apartment cleaned.  🙂

I think the complexity concept is also true of my drawings.  I have already posted one of my latest drawings of a flower in a previous Wednesday post.  Here is an earlier effort at drawing:

Although the shading is definitely well-done in this drawing, I feel the orchid was much more complex.  Not only the flower itself, but the execution.  Or at least I like to tell myself that.

When I am drawing, the ability to use shades of gray soothes me and allows me to simplify some aspects of the picture.  Drawing with colored pencils add a layer of complexity in and of themselves.  What does that say about the way we see things in real life?  Maybe that certain things (like the colors I work with in drawing) blind us to seeing the shades of gray?  This is one of the few colored pencil drawings I have done.

There is a certain amount of simplicity to the scene in and of itself.  What made this difficult for me is that it was created solely from my own head.  Everything else I draw is done looking at a photo.  So when it is real life, I use the graphite pencils, making it shades of gray.  But when things are coming completely from my mind, that is when I use color in the drawing and the painting.  So am I thinking that real life is gray while my head is full of color?  I don’t know.  But it’s an interesting thing to think about.

What artistic outlets do you find helping you?

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on February 15, 2012.

6 Responses to “Wild Art”

  1. Eli – you are SO talented! I mean…WOW! I don’t have one artistic bone in my body. Art was always my worst subject – I was horrified to find out it was compulsory when I hit high school! But your drawings – I see texture, I see detail. They’re interesting 🙂

    OK, I may have half an artistic bone. I love to dance. I used to dance all the time when I was young, to anything. And it gradually got more and more stiffled as I got more and more stressed. I began worrying that I had to know exactly how each step was done. I lost my…spontaneity. Hopefully I’ll find it again 🙂

    And I love your thoughts about the colour inside your head. Hmmm. Maybe your subconscious, your inner you, sees in colour. But your consciousness, conscious of how bleak the real world can be, and how confusing, sees in colour. *shrug* Just a thought 🙂 Anyway, keep drawing!

    Oh, and I may not be able to visit every day. I just can’t keep up with blogs that post every day – I drive myself crazy trying. (OCD tendancies again 🙂 But I’ve not forgotten you 🙂 *hugs*

  2. As always, Orannia, your compliments make me feel wonderful!

    I was told when I was young that I couldn’t draw by an art teacher. The only thing I can figure is that it took a lot of time for my hands to catch up with my mind’s eye. I got started with a “You Can Draw” kit that I got as a gift. As you can see, I branched out from there. 🙂

    If you used to love dancing, I hope you find the time and desire to get started with it again. Having an artistic outlet has done wonders for my heart and mind.

    As for visiting daily, don’t feel bad. When I started this blog, I thought I would have trouble writing three posts a week. The fact that it has become an almost daily occurrence surprises me as much as it does others. Just knowing that you read and enjoy my blog is an amazing thing for me.

  3. The texture in the first two are really great. I love the boat in the last one. The dock though was awesome.

  4. It’s so great that you’re stretching your creative muscles in a different way. Go for it!

    • Thanks!

      I have learned that just because others don’t believe I am creative, doesn’t mean that I can’t be. We each just need to find the right outlet for all of the garbage in our head, whether art, photography, writing, poetry, building things, kiling monsters in a video game, meditation, or whatever you find works for you.

Leave a Reply

 
