Lacking just enough sleep…

I am at that point where I am lacking just enough sleep to make me hyperactive.  Too bad this is all happening when I am at work.  *lol* 

It’s all okay, though.  I need the overtime like nobody’s business.  With the extra hours, I might just make all my bills!  The electric is going to be the hard one since it is so high, but I might even be able to pay it with a small amount of help.  It all depends on how much over my low estimate I end up with.  Send me good thoughts that I make enough for everything!  And I haven’t turned in all my pennies, so I will have grocery money, too.  YAY!

So we are here at my job waiting for something to happen with nothing to do in the meantime.  *shrug*  We have to be here, so I am not complaining.  Honestly, they could send me hom.  And in another hour or so, if we are still waiting and I haven’t been given anything to do, I probably will volunteer for it.  I will still have a decent amount of overtime for this week as long as my boss doesn’t cut my hours to make sure I don’t get overtime next week.  😀

Yep, definitely in the hyperactive/hypomanic state.  And of course the music on my internet radio station is just great for my mood.  You’ve got to love the concept of synchronicity.  I will probably do some writing in a little bit.  I started something that is a lot of fun.  I still need to work on my novel as well.  I say novel like there’s only one.  *LOL*

Okay, so one of my coworkers just told me to “Break it down!  Go girl!” because I was chair dancing to a great song.  Eh.  I told them I was hyper when I got here.  Since we have all been working really long hours this weekend, we are all tired, but I figured it was only fair to warn them so they didn’t kill me immediately.  I am not too concerned since she was watching a video with one of the shift leads.

I think I need to go write now, though.  I shouldn’t waste all of this energy.  I know that as soon as I get home I am probably going to start getting sleepy.  I am in a good mood, whether it is the hypomania, lack of sleep, or something else, I don’t know.  The doctor is increasing my Lithium, so we shall have to see how everything works out.

I hope everyone is on the smoother side of life this weekend.

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on January 29, 2012.

9 Responses to “Lacking just enough sleep…”

  1. I’m glad that you’re doing so well today! And get writing! What’s this new idea that you’ve got in the works hmmm? I expect details! lots and lots of hugs!

  2. Some thoughts for cutting down on the electricity bill:
    1. “Off” doesn’t really mean off for most electronics. Televisions, computer monitors, all those charging devices… they’re ALWAYS on. Put your charging cords on an extension strip, then turn the strip off when there’s nothing tethered to them (but don’t do it if there’s something plugged in, since it may well DRAIN the battery).
    2. Apartments cool down/warm up very quickly. ALWAYS turn off your temperature control when you’re not home (especially if you don’t have animals to worry about). it’s not Minnesota out here; no matter how cold the apartment gets, you shouldn’t have to worry about freezes.
    3. For windows you don’t usually open, get the plastic sealant thingies from the hardware store. Simply cut to shape then use a hairdryer to seal them, creating a thermal barrier for summer & winter.
    4. Your neighbors should have an outlet on their porch. Run a cord from their outlets to whatever is the largest power hog in your apartment. Share the burden. JK!!!!

    • True enough (except for the stealing from the neighbors). 😉 Honestly, being on the second floor, my heater rarely kicks in. On the other hand, my apartment gets hot during the summer. I know it won’t be as bad as the last apartment since that was 3rd floor. I will just have to see how things work out. I do try to remember to turn the temp up in the summer when I am not there and down during the winter. I will have to figure out how to do the electronics thing. Thanks for the ideas.

  3. I know what living like that is. I have went and cleaned out the car, dug under my couch cushions, checked pockets, looking for money to buy at least a few groceries. I have went in to the electric company with my kids and all and begged the supervisor to keep it on for a little longer and they asked me how much money I had of it to pay and they kept in on for me for just paying like a third of the bill. Hang in there!

    • Thank you so much for your kind words! I wish I had the excuse of taking care of a family to explain my poor money skills. The last few months have been worse than any before, though. I am hoping to get everything straightened out in the next two weeks. Then I will be able to get a better idea of whether I need to get a 2nd job. I am lucky in having friends and family that are willing to help me out when they can, even if it is only giving me their change bottles/boxes.

      I have never had to live this close to the edge before, but I am not as bad off as many. I have a beautiful apartment in a gated complex. Although it isn’t in the best part of town, the complex itself stays pretty safe and is close to work. I have a boss and coworkers that made sure I got to work plenty of overtime this weekend and gave me the leftovers from the meals the company supplied. I have friends that feed me regularly and are trying to help me set up a budget as well as find a better-paying job or a 2nd job.

      So I give thanks for all of that and keep hanging on to my branch. I know that things will get better because they have been getting better in different ways for as long as I can remember. Everything might not work out all at once, but, when you look back to where you were a year ago, five years ago, and ten years ago, you can see all of the changes that have occurred.

      Hopefully your tides have turned and you’re better able to cope financially and otherwise in your own life.

  4. *hugs* Sometimes money just gets tight because…a lot of expenses come in at once, even when you’re careful. You just have to ride the wave 🙂 That’s what I tell myself anyway. I’ve being doing just that for the last few months, but am hoping to see daylight soon. Never again will I allow my emergency fund to get so low. I hope you get the overtime and make all those bills.

    And fingers crossed on the sleeping!

    • Very true. And I do have to admit that this all started in October when I was hospitalized, my hours cut at work, and I moved. I am trying my best to recover and get back on my feet. I am paddling as fast as I can! Now if only I can get up on the board, right? 😉

  5. It’s so fascinating that you put that you’re lacking just enough sleep to make you hyperactive. Turns out, as it seems you know, that it’s not just that mania causes sleep disturbance, but that sleep disturbance can cause mania [see http://candidaabrahamson.wordpress.com/2012/01/31/knitting-up-the-raveled-sleave-of-care-sleep-and-bipolar-disorder/%5D. Sounds like it’s crucial that you start getting some shut-eye, and closing down an impending manic (or hypomanic) episode. I offer some ideas in the post, but your doctor should have more. Please take care of this–as I wrote in another post, depression invariably follows mania, and that’s the last thing you need. All the best, Candida

    • Thank you so much for your insightful and well-researched comment. I was not aware that lack of sleep could be a cause as well as a symptom of a manic or hypomanic phase. Since I suffer from sleep disturbances during both phases of my disorder, I wonder how it impacts me. There is also the issue that I have worked 2nd and 3rd shift for years. I do know that exposure to sunlight is an issue for me as my vitamin D levels were dangerously low when the doctor checked them a year ago. I guess I need to work harder at getting out in the sun daily.

Leave a Reply

 
