Finally got some sleep…

So, I slept for about 10 hours last night.  That’s about standard for when I go without sleeping since my body will straight up shut down.  I know of people with bipolar that can go days without sleep, but I just can’t physically do it.  Generally when I am hypomanic, I get 3-4 hours of sleep a night for a few days or however long it lasts.

I have been thinking about how I want to structure this blog.  I want and need to discuss how bipolar is affecting me personally, but I also think there are people out there that want more information.  Whether you suffer from it or someone you know does, you are curious.  So I was thinking that, after these first few posts, I will try to put up three posts per week.  One about my writing or art, one about how I am doing, and one that is more informational about bipolar.  I am sure that some weeks it will be hard for me to do all three, but it might just help me get on track a little better.

I have also been thinking about my therapy and my treatment.  Since I am going to be talking about this disorder and my actions/reactions on a weekly basis, I am going to do something many might not do.  I am going to give the address to my therapist.  At that point it is up to her if she wants to read it.  I hope she does, but there a lot of reasons that she might not.  I am not going to judge her either way, but at least I am opening the possibility.

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on January 15, 2012.

3 Responses to “Finally got some sleep…”

  1. Argh! Trying to impose order upon chaos already?!?!?!? LOL

  2. HI! *waves* I hope that you don’t mind that I stopped by? I think your three posts per week idea is a good one. After all, this blog is for you, about you – you can do whatever works best for you 🙂 I have a friend who has just been diagnosed with biopolar, so I’d be really interested to know more. Thank you for being open – it’s not easy, but it’s amazing what a difference you can make. I’ve learnt so much from the blogs I visit, the people I follow.

    As for giving your therapist this URL…I don’t think that’s weird. I think it’s allowing her to see another side of you. I see a pyschotherapist and I often talk about my blog, people online…posts I have written/am thinking of writing. Sometimes I find that talking with her helps me…sort all the whirring emotions enough to write a post. And other times I find a post I’ve written explains what I’m trying to say, or what I’ve discovered since I’ve seen her last. As I said, this is for you. Happy blogging!

    • I appreciate you stopping by!

      I hope I find helpful information to post as well as talking about my own situation. I have realized over time that I can be open with my close friends and they will be loving and understanding, even when I am easily irritated and bitchy. I also find that I am more comfortable in my own skin when I can talk to people about my illness. I don’t mean that a person needs to inform every person, but their close friends for sure. If someone I tell changes the way they act with me, then I know they were not meant to be in my life for very long.

      That was what I figured. Sometimes my memory is not the best or I don’t truly realize that my behavior is affected. So it is good for others be able to see and help me figure out that I am having an issue.

Leave a Reply

 
