Hello world! Hey! Why’d you smack me upside the head?!

So I guess this is my introduction to all of you.  I go by Eli (pronounce like Ellie).

I am a writer, an artist, a logistics analyst, a sister, a daughter, a best friend, and I have Bipolar 2 Disorder.  Hence the world smacking me upside the head.  I have been diagnosed for 14 years, although I believe I went undiagnosed for several years prior to that.  I want to talk to people about this.  I want people to try to understand how mental illness not only affects my mood, but my job, my relationships, and every person around me.

I will post snippets of my writing, pictures of my art, and talk about my life with this illness.  I hope there are a few of you out there that want to know about living with Bipolar Disorder.

~ by theartistryofthebipolarbrain on January 14, 2012.

4 Responses to “Hello world! Hey! Why’d you smack me upside the head?!”

  1. You’re a wonderful human being for wanting to honestly and openly share this very important part of your life.

  2. I’m very much looking forward to reading more. We’re good friends in real life, and you are SO self-aware that I can’t help but learn from you thoughtful introspection.

    Okay, that sounded all kinds of weird. But it’s hearfelt… 🙂

    • You know, I just realized I had not replied to your comments. I do appreciate them. Even though I can talk to you about this in person, it is nice to know that you understand what I am going through in a lot of ways. And even though you have not had the same experiences, you listen and allow me to rant and vent with you so I don’t do it at inopportune times like work. The friends I have are so incredibly important to me because they do listen and allow me to rant. Also, you have helped me start identifying when I am having syptoms and am not noticing/aware. The only way I am going to be able to live with this disorder is to know as much as possible about myself and my illness.

  3. Looking forward to reading more

Leave a Reply

 
